Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Third Coast National - PRESS RELEASE

What: Third Coast NationalThird Annual National Juried Exhibition

When: Opening Saturday, October 17, 2009 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm.

Gallery talk with Juror Fairfax Dorn at 5:30pm.

Exhibition runs through November 21st.

Where: K Space Contemporary, 415 D Starr Street, Corpus Christi, TX 78403

Contact: V. Michelle Smythe, 361-887-6834,

Images: “Mansion” by Melissa Wilkinson, “Now What” by Russ Orlando

K Space Contemporary proudly presents its third annual juried exhibition, Third Coast National, drawing artists from as far as San Francisco, CA and Athens, GA. This non-thematic exhibition utilizing artistic mediums such as photography, painting, sculpture, film, and graphic design will be on view from October 17th through November 21st.

Juror Fairfax Dorn, artist, Executive Director, and co-founder of Ballroom Marfa, left a highly successful position at the Whitney Museum of American art in New York City for the West Texas desert landscape. Formerly a resident of Corpus Christi, the juror currently engages emerging and established artists to promote new ideas on an international scale. Recent projects include an eco-friendly Drive-In theatre/music hall and ongoing missions to bring people together though the arts.

A gallery talk by Fairfax Dorn will take place at 5:30 pm. Admission is free, with refreshments and live music by Oscar Guerra and Bruno Andrade. Also opening this evening: Dyslexic Dreams Go Green by Robert Cockrell and Jim Forsythe in the 3rd floor Hot Spot Gallery and Blackbird People, drawings by Ricardo Ruiz in the Art Star Gallery.

Sponsors include the Arts and Cultural Commission of Corpus Christi, KUQI Fox, Grande Communications, V Boutique Hotel, and Andrews Distributing. This exhibition was also made possible through the efforts of the Texas A&M Museum and Gallery Practices class led by Elizabeth Reese, Phd.

Participating artists include: Therese Bauer (El Paso, TX), John Bissonette (Las Vegas, NV), Peter Combe (San Francisco, CA), Casey D. Cooper (San Antonio, TX), Bryan Drew (Lincoln, NE), Stephen Gambill (Corpus Christi, TX), Andrea Land (Springfield, MO), Haejae Lee (Richmond Hill, NY), John Mastenbrook (Corpus Christi, TX), Leigh Merrill (Denton, TX), Russ Orlando (Franklin, MI), James R. Pace (Tyler, TX), David Politzer (Youngstown, OH), Shravan Rajagopal (Marquette, MI), Kaletia Roberts (Dallas, TX), Greg Rubio (Corpus Christi, TX), Martina Shenal (Tucson, AZ), Alison A. Smith (Athens, GA), Josh Smith (Portland, OR), Cliff Tisdell (Hoboken, NJ), Susan Smith Trees (Lake Forest, IL), Vaugn Wascovich (Commerce, TX), Marqi Weir (Placitas, NM), Jonathan Whitfill (Lubbock, TX), Melissa Wilkinson (Hewitt, TX), and Brandy Wolfe (Allston, MA).


jenene said...

were there awards given?

Anonymous said...

[url=]nkARukwJWZQp[/url] , kyQmzvQDNszeur ,